Runway vs Elyumfor MiniMax H3

On Elyum you preview MiniMax H3 for free and pay only for keeps, while on Runway a finished clip spends credits even when you hate it.

MiniMax H3 by MiniMaxText to videoImage to videoReference to video
Try MiniMax H3 free on ElyumMiniMax H3 on ElyumOur algorithm may grant you 150 free credits · no card required
Real MiniMax H3 output, rendered on Elyum, untouched. Cinematic, photoreal. Prompt: “Cinematic slow motion: a ballet dancer spins in an abandoned theater, dust in shafts of light, chiffon dress flaring, camera circling.
MiniMax H3 on RunwayOffered
MiniMax H3 on Elyum5 credits / second
Clip length515 s
Bad takes on ElyumKill, full refund
Facts verified2026-09-07

MiniMax H3 is MiniMax's video model for 5 to 15 second clips from text, a still, or reference images and audio. The MiniMax H3 page lists text to video, image to video, and reference to video, from 480p through 4K. The look holds up at the high end: a 5s 4K keep is 90 credits ($0.90). Duration is billed per second. Use it for short cinematic shots and reference-locked characters, not a 30-second sequence.

The model weights do not change. The bill does. Elyum returns every render as a free preview; credits move only when you keep a take, and a kill refunds the rest in full. Runway's help center states credits return automatically only on a hard generation error. A completed clip that missed the prompt still spends the credits. Runway's pricing page lists Standard at $15/mo (625 credits), Pro at $35/mo (2,250), and Max at $95/mo (9,500). Elyum pricing starts at Free (up to 150 credits once (our algorithm may grant them), no card), then Plus $9/mo, Pro $29/mo, and Ultra $69/mo. Per-second MiniMax H3 rates on Runway are not published.

Runway is the better desk if you want production tooling around the model. Paid tiers add brand kits, custom voice clones, HDR/ProRes and image-sequence export, and up to 20 parallel generations on Max. Elyum does not ship a timeline editor, stock footage, avatars, a mobile app, team seats, or a community feed. If that suite is the job, keep MiniMax H3 on Runway.

MiniMax H3 on Runway

Runway offers MiniMax H3 under the API ids h3_max and hailuo3 (MiniMax Hailuo), per its developer model list. Runway's pricing page puts Standard at $15/mo with 625 credits, Pro at $35/mo with 2,250, and Max at $95/mo with 9,500 (Max rolls unused credits one month). Standard copy lists all AI video and image models, no watermarks, 5 parallel generations, and 4K upscaling. The per-second credit rate for MiniMax H3 is not published. A universal max clip length is not confirmed; per-model limits vary.

A Trustpilot reviewer wrote that AI often ignores clear, detailed prompts and still burns credits on the failed attempt. Runway's refund article matches the research: credits return automatically only when a generation ends in a hard error. Low-quality or off-prompt output that completes is charged. Free is 125 one-time credits with 5GB storage and a limited model selection; whether MiniMax H3 sits on that free set is not stated. Commercial-use terms were not independently verified from Runway's ToS in this research.

MiniMax H3 on Elyum

On Elyum, MiniMax H3 is 5 to 15 seconds from text, a frame, or references, at 480p, 768p, 2K, or 4K. Per-second rates are 5 at 480p, 7 at 768p, 15 at 2K, and 18 at 4K. A 5s keep is 25 credits ($0.25) or 90 credits ($0.90). A 15s keep is 75 credits ($0.75) or 270 credits ($2.70).

Every render is a free preview. Credits move only when you keep a take; a kill refunds the rest in full, and a failed generation is never charged. Free meters kills at one a month; paid plans kill freely. Kept takes are full quality, no watermark, commercial use included. Plans are Free up to 150 credits once (our algorithm may grant them) (no card), Plus $9/mo, Pro $29/mo, Ultra $69/mo, at 1 credit = $0.01. Same model from Claude, ChatGPT, or Cursor via the MCP server.

What a MiniMax H3 take costs

ScenarioRunwayElyum
One 5s take you keepNot published for MiniMax H325 credits ($0.25) at 480p; 90 credits ($0.90) at 4K
Ten takes, keep twoNot published; all 10 completed clips spend credits2 × 25 credits = 50 credits ($0.50)
A failed generationRefunded only on a hard generation errorNever charged
Monthly plan to access the modelStandard $15/mo lists all models; H3 on Free unknownFree up to 150 credits once (our algorithm may grant them), no card
Watermark on the fileNone on paid plans; Free watermark not confirmedNone on kept takes
Completed take you then discardCharged; no automatic refundFull refund on kill (1/mo on Free)

Elyum: 1 credit = $0.01, charged only when you keep a take. Runway figures from its own pricing pages and independent reviews, verified 2026-09-07; sources at the end. Full rate card on the MiniMax H3 page.

Where the two differ

You pay on keep, not on preview

Elyum charges only when you keep a MiniMax H3 take. Runway deducts credits when the generation completes, then refunds only a hard error.

Published rates vs unpublished

Elyum lists per-second MiniMax H3 rates from 480p through 4K via the tokens on this page. Runway does not publish a MiniMax H3 credit rate in the research.

Clip length and resolution

On Elyum, MiniMax H3 is 5 to 15 seconds, up to 4K. Runway does not publish a universal max clip length; 4K upscaling is included on Standard and unlimited on Pro and Max. Native H3 resolution on Runway is not stated.

Editor and production suite

Runway adds brand kits, voice clones, HDR/ProRes, image sequences, and multi-project workspaces on paid tiers. Elyum is a generation studio: no timeline editor, stock footage, avatars, mobile app, or team seats.

API and MCP access

Runway ships a public developer API covering Gen-4.5, Aleph, and licensed models including MiniMax H3. Elyum's REST API uses the same keep/kill billing for this model.

Commercial use terms

Elyum includes commercial use on kept takes. Runway paid plans are positioned for commercial output in third-party summaries, but official ToS language was not quoted in this research, so treat that as unconfirmed.

Pick Runway when

  • Run MiniMax H3 next to Gen-4.5 and Aleph 2.0 in one Runway credit pool, with Kling, Veo, and Seedance on the same desk.
  • Paid Runway plans include 4K upscaling, no watermarks, and Max extras (HDR, ProRes, image sequences, brand kits).
  • Use Runway's public API if MiniMax H3 has to live next to Gen-4.5 in one programmatic pipeline.
  • Pro and Max raise parallel generations to 15 and 20 if you batch a lot of takes.

Pick Elyum when

  • Preview every MiniMax H3 take free. Credits move only on keep; kills refund in full.
  • 5s and 15s keep prices from 480p to 4K are listed on this page, already about 20% under comparable anchors.
  • Free is up to 150 credits once (our algorithm may grant them). Plus is $9/mo versus Runway Standard at $15/mo.
  • Prompt MiniMax H3 from Claude, ChatGPT, or Cursor through Elyum MCP, with the same keep/kill rule.

MiniMax H3 in three styles, rendered on Elyum

Getting the most out of MiniMax H3

  • Write one shot, not a montage. MiniMax H3 holds 5 to 15 seconds. Name a single camera move (slow push-in, handheld track, locked-off) and one subject action. Two scene changes in a 5s clip usually smear.
  • For image to video, describe how the still should move, not a new composition. Say what starts moving, how far, and what stays locked. Fighting the frame is how faces warp and backgrounds slide.
  • If you pass reference images, lock identity and wardrobe to the refs, then put lighting and lens in the prompt. A different age, outfit, or time of day than the reference is the usual identity drift.
  • Give physics a sentence. Weight, friction, wind, and shutter (motion blur vs crisp) keep MiniMax H3 from floaty cloth and ice-rink floors. The word cinematic alone does nothing.
  • Set the aspect for delivery (16:9, 9:16, or 1:1) in the prompt. Do not write 4K as a style word. On Elyum, resolution is a render control up to 4K.
  • Avoid stacked negatives and a pile of style names. MiniMax H3 responds better to a lens (35mm, 85mm), a time of day, and one motion verb than to a director list.

Frequently asked questions

How much does a MiniMax H3 video cost on Elyum vs Runway?
On Elyum a 5s keep is 25 credits ($0.25) at 480p and 90 credits ($0.90) at 4K. A 15s keep is 75 credits ($0.75) or 270 credits ($2.70). Runway does not publish a MiniMax H3 credit rate. Runway Standard is $15/mo for 625 credits.
Is MiniMax H3 the same model on both?
Yes. Same MiniMax weights via the vendor. Runway lists the model as h3_max / hailuo3. Platforms differ in price, refunds, and limits. Elyum runs 5 to 15 seconds up to 4K. Runway's native resolution and clip cap for MiniMax H3 are not published; paid plans include 4K upscaling.
What happens to a bad MiniMax H3 take?
On Elyum you kill it and we refund those credits in full (one kill a month on Free; paid plans kill freely). A failed generation is never charged. On Runway, only a hard generation error returns credits automatically. A completed but unusable clip is charged.
Do I need a subscription to use MiniMax H3 on Elyum?
No. Free includes up to 150 credits once (our algorithm may grant them) and no card. Previews are free; credits move only when you keep a take. Plus is $9/mo if you want a monthly pool and free kills. Browse the rest of the studio on models.
Does Elyum watermark MiniMax H3 downloads?
No. Kept takes download clean, full quality, commercial use included. Runway paid plans list no watermarks. Free-tier watermark status on Runway was not confirmed.
Where else can I compare MiniMax H3 platforms?
Same model on other desks: Higgsfield vs Elyum for MiniMax H3 and OpenArt vs Elyum for MiniMax H3. Product-level Runway gaps are on the Runway alternative page.
Facts checked 2026-09-07
Runway facts on this page come from these sources. Elyum prices are the live rate card.
  1. Runway Pricing (official) (accessed 2026-09-07)
  2. Available Runway AI Models — Runway Developer Docs (accessed 2026-09-07)
  3. Kling 3.0 on Runway (accessed 2026-09-07)
  4. Creating with FLUX 3 — Runway Help Center (accessed 2026-09-07)
  5. Can I have credits refunded? — Runway Help Center (accessed 2026-09-07)
  6. Runway Reviews — Trustpilot (accessed 2026-09-07)
  7. Runway AI Pricing 2026: Free Plan, Credits, Max Plan & Best Value — Somake AI (accessed 2026-09-07)
  8. Runway AI pricing in 2026: every plan, credit cost, and what you actually get — eesel AI (accessed 2026-09-07)
  9. AI Video Startup Runway Valued at $5.3 Billion With New Funding — Bloomberg (accessed 2026-09-07)
  10. Runway on X — API model list changelog announcement (accessed 2026-09-07)

Related comparisons

Create everything. Keep the best.

MiniMax H3 is a AI video generator you can preview free on Elyum. Keep the takes you love, kill the rest for a full refund.

Start creating free